ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Trophy Prize, Runners-up Prize, Semi-finals and Final Rules | All You Need to Know

T20 World Cup 2021 Details: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 starts this Sunday. Here is everything you need to know about the tournament’s format and the prize money!

The T20 World Cup is finally upon us, after a break of 5 long years! Carlos Brathwaite’s “Remember the Name” moment seems like a lifetime ago! But it is back now!

As the tournament starts from the 17th of October, here are all the details you need to know about it:

ICC T20 World Cup All Details

First Round

We kick off with the first round, where 8 teams will fight for 4 vacant slots in the Super 12s stage. The top 8 ranked teams in T20Is are already there by virtue of their ICC rankings.

Betway MENA Casino 1000$ SOB banners

From Sunday, we’ll see Group A’s Ireland, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and Namibia, and Group B’s Bangladesh, Scotland, Oman and Papua New Guinea fight it out for 2 slots from each group.

The First Round will go on till the 22nd of October. From the 23rd, the Super 12s stage will begin!

Also Read: Top 5 teams with Most Wins in ICC T20 World Cups

Super 12s

In the Super 12s, Group 1 consists of England, Australia, South Africa and the West Indies, and they await the winners of Group A from the First Round and the runners-up of Group B.

Group 2 consists of India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and New Zealand, as they await the winners of Group B and the runner-up of Group A.

Each team in their respective Groups will then play all their opponents in that Group, in a round-robin format to decide the Top 2 of that Group.

The Top 2 in both Groups will advance to the semifinals!

Semifinals and Final

Both Group 1 and Group 2’s Top 2 teams will then play the semifinals. The winners of the semifinals will then play for the World T20 Championship on the 14th of November, 2021!

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: 5 Players Who Have Played The Most T20 Internationals

Prize Money

The ICC had earlier this week announced prize money for the winners, runners-up and the semifinalists. They are as follows (shown in terms of Indian rupees):

Winners: INR 12 crores

Runners-up: INR 6 crorers

Semifinalists: INR 3 crores each

So who do you think will go the distance in this edition? The extravaganza is about to begin!